| Formed in 1969 the Maclean District Historical Society has actively collected artifacts and researched the history
relevant to this unique area. Much of the collection is on display either in the Stone
Cottage or the Bicentennial Museum. Each of these buildings is an integral part of the
Society, the Stone Cottage being the original building on the site dating back to 1889, whilst the Museum
was constructed with Federal Government assistance in the form of a grant in the
Bicentennial Year of 1988. Apart from managing this collection, our volunteers have been and are currently conducting
research into the history of the original inhabitants and the early settlers, and local
history of this area.
The Maclean District Historical Society is a totally voluntary organisation.
prepare, set up and maintain the Museum displays and the collection
research and collate family histories ( to see the list of 10,000 + family names, click here)
research, collate and publish the history of local organisations, industries and localities
produce a quarterly newsletter, The Advocate
fund raise through market stalls and sale of publications
staff the Museum 3 days a week
The Museum Complex.
The Maclean District Historical Society complex at the corner of Wharf and Grafton Streets, Maclean, comprises:
built by Johann George Schaefer in 1889 from locally (on site) hewed sandstone. The original corrugated iron roof has been replaced but not the concave iron over the verandahs on the west and southern sides and the kitchen area. This 'turn of the century' cottage comprises 5 rooms and a hall and is furnished with items, mainly from the early 1900's, in the music room, the main bedroom, parlour and children's room. At the back is the kitchen with its large, open fireplace with many items displayed on the large table, on shelves and in two large dressers.
Built in the Bicentennial Year, 1988, is connected by a pathway to the southern entrance which opens into a mezzanine floor where the displays are in large glass cases or on an open plan. Visitors can view the ground floor level where large items such as a tractor, sulkies, drays, cane carts and farm equipment are exhibited. The two floors are connected by an internal stairway. An attractive mural by Linda El Mir depicting aspects of the cane industry adds to the interest of the ground floor. A strong room allows for archivally stored photos and documents and a work area downstairs allows for the voluntary staff to spend many hours on conservation and repair work.
A small area displays our current publications for sale as well as souvenir type items, jams, pickles and second hand books. The purchase of even the smallest item helps our funds.